Vegan Omelette – Two for the price of one!

7 December 2014 at 22:42 (Plastic Vegan, Random Randomness) (, , , , )

Zoo wee mama! I do miss eating Indian-style omelettes. Eggs are the only thing I really miss from my pre-plastic-vegan days. Egg and chips, pancakes, scrambled egg toasties, all full of
yum. Also years of malfunctioning kidneys from all that animal protein 😦 But that’s another story.

Well lately I’ve been thinking of the omelettes my mother makes. We call them “purro” (who knows if that’s the correct transliteration, we speak a very mashed-up dialect). Anyway, they are one of the few Indian foods that I actually like. So I had a look online for vegan omelette-substitutes and found this one by the lovely VeganRicha. So I used her base recipe, and replaced the seasonings. Unfortunately my mum is away so I had to make do with my sister’s version of the spices.

My variation:
1/3 cup chickpea flour
About a tablespoon of ground flax? (I just sprinkle it on by eye)
1 tbsp soya yoghurt
1/3 cup water

Mix the chickpea flour and flax. Mix in the yoghurt. Slowly mix in the water, stirring well (if you add the water gradually, and mix well after each addition, you’ll avoid lumps). It will thicken up when you leave it to stand for a couple of minutes, so don’t worry if the mixture seems runny at first. I then divide this mixture by two. Two for the price of one! Because with a bit of sugar and a dash of vanilla, this batter makes nice pancakes too! Look!

pancake1

Of course, when I say pancakes, I mean British pancakes, which others might call crepes. I add a bit more water to this to make it runny enough for a thin pancake. Anyway, to carry on with the omelette:

Spices:
Tiny pinch of salt (I don’t always bother with salt)
Tip of a teaspoon of red chilli powder
Tip of a teaspoon of turmeric (haldi)
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander seed (dhanna)
Tip of a teaspoon of ground green chilli*
Tip of a teaspoon of garlic/ginger*

*The way my family do this is to blitz big batches up in a food processor. I think they freeze most of it for later use and keep the rest in sealed containers in the fridge.

Cook same as the original recipe.

omelette1

Best served with vegan chappati, but since my family don’t do vegan chappati (they use margarine with milk ingredients) and I hate making chappati, I just eat it by itself! Yum! It’s not the same as a real omelette, but it’s close enough! Omelette-craving appeased!

Leave a Reply

