Vegan Doughnuts, Making Your Own Vinegar, and Quinoa Sprouts

10 May 2014 at 17:36 (Plastic Vegan, Random Randomness) (, , )

After much dallying, I got round to making doughnuts using Ms Cupcake’s recipe.

Dough my goodness! They came out so well! I think I am getting the hang of this cooking business.

doughnuts-raw
This is them after a second rising. The mini ones turned into chocolate doughnuts.

doughnuts-cooked
Freshly fried. I don’t have a jam injector (not one that works, anyway), so I had to just make a big hole in the side and spoon in the jam.

doughnut-iced
Iced one I made for my sister.

Wow, all I can say is VEGAN WIN! Ms Cupcake is so super awesome! One note about her recipe: she says to use active dried yeast, but as far as I know, this always needs to be reactivated in water before mixing into the dough. Her recipe doesn’t call for that, and the way she uses it is more akin to easy-bake yeast, so I broke open a sachet of that and got great results!

The best thing about this, besides no animal products, is that they have a longer shelf life than the ones I used to get from Morrison’s. You know them, they have to be eaten same day, or they got hard and not at all nice to eat. These were soft even the next evening, and may have lasted till the next, but I didn’t want to risk it.

The trickiest thing about this recipe is making sure the oil is at the right temperature. And not burning them. But if I can manage this recipe, anyone can!

Another thing I am doing is trying to make my own vinegar. I got the idea from mossgrownstone‘s blog. I thought, this is too good a chance to miss! Sooo….

cidervinegar

What happened was, I was far too impatient and inspecting it almost every day, and I ended up drowning what looked like the beginnings of a mother. So this time I’m forcing myself to leave well alone and I think I can see something. I’m not sure how long I need to leave it before I can put the lid on properly.

Another thing, there is a comment where the author speaks of making pineapple vinegar and it got me thinking, can you use any fruit juice, if you start it off with a bit of yeast to get the initial fermentation? If I can’t find any definite info, I may give it a go.

I am also trying sprouted quinoa. Same technique as sprouted budgie seeds, but much faster!

sproutingrains

Leave a Reply

