No-poo hair washing and oil pulling

9 February 2014 at 18:09 (Random Randomness) (, , , , )

Note before you read: Oil pulling is best done with organic cold-pressed raw sesame oil. IT’s way more palatable and less likely to induce gagging. I personally use the ClearSpring brand from Real Foods. Coconut and sunflower are also good. Do not use olive oil, trust me.

Note #2: Do not use the bicarb no-poo, it’s REALLY bad for your hair. I now use Mistry’s Shampoo, or you could try making a decoction of soapwort/soapnuts/shikakai or a combination of those. Both should be allowed to soak for about 10 minutes before rinsing with vinegar water. That’s enough note.

I’ve been seeing a lot of websites extolling the wonder of the no-poo method for washing one’s hair. The formula is: 1tbsp of bicarb dissolved in 250mls of boiled cooled water. And you massage this into wet hair to clean it. You then follow it with a rinse of 1tbsp of apple cider vinegar dissolved into 250mls of water.

Well I thought, this sounds great! It greatly appeals to the hippie in me. I didn’t have any cider vinegar the first time round, so it was just the bicarb solution. I tried it and was very disappointed with the results. Let me say something: I envisaged a life free from the nasty chemicals of commercial shampoo. So I was VERY disappointed to find that after one brushing, my hair brush was covered, and I mean COVERED in a nasty dusty residue. I mean totally COVERED. This was like, 3 years worth of regular brushing dust in ONE go. Ew. diynatural.com had a comment by the author suggesting that it may be a result of not rinsing properly. So second time round, I made sure to have the vinegar rinse ready, and this time I made sure I rinsed everything out very thoroughly. I was rinsing ages, trust me. But again, the disgusting white residue. Not only that, I normally only have to wash my hair twice a week. It’ll only get really manky and greasy after about 5 days. I usually wash it every 3 to 4 days. But with the no-poo method, my hair was greasy and disgusting within two days. Yes, just two days and my hair felt disgusting, greasy and icky, like it hadn’t been washed for two weeks.

So that was the end of the no-poo method. I do like the vinegar rinse though, so that has stayed. If any of you have tried it and have an idea why it produced such gross results on me, please let me know! I am thinking now I might want to try a mild castile-based shampoo. I really like the look of the Mistry’s shampoo (have a look at the ingredients list to see why), but at £3.49 for 200ml, I don’t think it’s going to be very affordable. So it’ll probably have to be castile.

Now on to oil-pulling. This sounded really cool, and slightly gross, too, so I thought I’d give it a go. I have a hard enough time keeping mouthwash in my gob for the full minute, so this was going to be a challenge from the start. I tried it with coconut oil yesterday, and despite gagging twice, I managed to keep going for 5 minutes before that everlasting cough forced me to spit it out. Stupid cough.

Today I tried it with EVOO (that’s Extra virgin olive oil) and ewwwwww I can still taste it. I did manage to keep it going for 10 minutes before gagging. I don’t really know how much good this is doing me, to be honest. It’s supposed to be good at clearing out mucus, but being realistic, I think I am beyond help on that one. I’ll keep trying it for a week or two and see if I notice any difference in my general wellbeing, but somehow, I think I am setting myself up for disappointment again 😦

Leave a Reply

