Crotchety ole Knitter

9 February 2014 at 17:30 (Random Randomness) (, , )

I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve been learning crochet these days. I found it a lot more complicated than knitting and it took me a while to figure out the technique, but I’m totally with it now. Here is the first thing I made that came out:
headband
Headband pattern by epicdabundance.
Flower pattern by happyberry.

Made more:
headbands
Flower pattern by happyberry.

And a matching set for my niece and her dollie:
headbanddollie
Double-flower pattern by happyberry. I used different coloured yarns for each layer.

Rose, just for fun:
rose
Pattern by Crochet Jewel.

And now for some knitting. This wasn’t an idle boast. I really do know how to knit mittens.
mittens-blue
These were made according to instructions for age 10, but they are still a snug fit for a seven year old 😦 I think I will change the pattern next time to remove the sharpness of the top of the mittens. I think casting off the last row would give a softer edge to it.

knittedheadband
This headband is my own pattern (flower is by happyberry as above), and I am going to share it with you for free and you are welcome to sell anything you make with this pattern (if you sell online, please credit).

Cast on 10.
k2, bring yarn forward, yo, p2tog, yo, p2tog, yo, p2tog, k2.
Repeat until desired length.
Cast off.

yay, that was simple. You can make it wider or narrower by increasing or decreasing cast-on stitches by multiples of 2, respectively. And that’s it! WARNING: This stretches a LOT and doesn’t really return to its original size after a day of wear. I would make it so that when you stretch it a lot, you can just about get it over your head. Otherwise it’ll be really loose and not much use holding back your hair.

Leave a Reply

