Francis Cabrel — Ami

28 November 2012 at 22:06 (Random Randomness, Translations) (, )

Ami cherche un autre ami perdu
Dans l’immensité des nues
Visages et corps inconnus.
A friend is searching for another friend who’s lost
In the vast expanses of the heavens
Faces and bodies unknown.
Rêveur cherche à retrouver son ciel
Du fond de la nuit appelle
Son étoile maternelle.
A dreamer is searching to retrieve its sky.
From the depths of the night
Calling its mother star.
Car il y a vingt ans un orage
M’a fait tomber de mon nuage
Et m’a laissé seul dans ce monde
abandonné.
For 20 years ago, there raged a storm
That threw me from my cloud
And left me all alone in this abandoned world.
Au matin d’un lointain voyage
Je suis tombé de mon nuage
Je n’ai jamais senti la terre sous mes pieds.
On the morning of a distant journey
I fell from my cloud
And I have never since felt the Earth beneath my feet.
Reviens, étoile aux plaines d’argent
Reviens chercher ton enfant
Avant qu’il ne soit géant
Come back, star of the silver plains
Come back and search for your child
Before he becomes too big
Avant qu’il ne se brûle à un feu
Qu’il ne se blesse à un jeu
Avant qu’il ne soit trop vieux.
Before he gets burned by fire
So he doesn’t get hurt in a game
Before he becomes too old.
Car il y a vingt ans un orage
M’a fait tomber de mon nuage
Et m’a laissé seul dans ce monde
abandonné.
For 20 years ago, there raged a storm
That threw me from my cloud
And left me all alone in this abandoned world.
Au matin d’un lointain voyage
Je suis tombé de mon nuage…
On the morning of a distant journey
I fell from my cloud…

I remember we studied this song for AS Level French. I think I was the only one who liked it (but then again, I was always the uncoolest person at school). I didn’t realise before how much this song matches up with Le Petit Prince, which is still my favourite book.

Leave a Reply

