I can haz art lessons?

14 April 2009 at 22:00 (Artwork, Random Randomness) (, , )

Wo0o0o0oh0o0o0o000! My books have arrived and I am starting my manga lessons yay! The books I have are: Manga for Dummies, and How to Draw Animé and Game Characters Vol1.

Anyway as you know, one of the things that I have trouble with is profile views. Unfortunately, Manga for Dummies has little to no advice on this 😦 All you get is how to draw the basic shape for the profile of the face, and the wire frame for a full body profile view, but that’s it really. How to Draw Animé does have tips on facial views but again, hardly anything on full body profiles. So it looks like I’m on my own here 😦

The good thing is though, apart from what I said above, each book fills in the deficiencies of the other, like ie for example, How to Draw Animé doesn’t break facial structure down to basics, but Manga for Dummies does. MFD hasn’t much on different eye styles, but HTDA does. So the two together are pretty much awesome.

Anyway I still don’t have a decent pic of Apollo for the Dreamsong story. Only the one profile view (flukes FTW!) but I want a front view. So I thought, armed with these books, lemme give it another go.

copyright silver arrows 2009

Needless to say, I failed. So what started off as Apollo turned into a shojo manga style man. Well, kinda. I don’t like it.

Since I did the man, I thought I might as well make a lady to keep him company – and failed even worse! Like the bloke, I followed the tutorial in Manga for Dummies on drawing shojo – I don’t know why, I can’t imagine I’m ever going to make shojo manga, but I suppose it’s a learning experience anyway – well here she is, but I warn you, she’s not pretty!

copyright silver arrows and i dont care ive had enough

Kiki FTW!

Leave a Reply

