4B Pencils, Mannikins and Level 4

28 October 2008 at 16:33 (Artwork, Kid Icarus, Kid Liquorice, Random Randomness) (, , , , , )

I’ve become so utterly useless at Smash Bros lately… I’m losing to level 6 CPUs even. Not even my special nunchuk of luck is helping… hmmm… I guess my heart eyes are just getting too big!!

My trusty 3B pencil that I’ve had since I was 17 is getting very small, so I was on a mission to buy a few replacements. Can you believe it? No one seems to sell 3B pencils on their own anymore. They had packs of pencils from B-9B – yeah, great – what do I want with all those? But no 3Bs on their own. So I had to get 2 4Bs and a 2B. Well, maybe I’ll prefer the 4B, and who knows? There used to be a really good art shop on Muswell Hill, just where the 144 stops. I used to get my art supplies from there – including my faithful 3B pencil – but it changed a few years back into a make-up shop.

So you see I am making some progress on my Kid Liquorice Sky World Story, but I am having difficulties at the moment with some sheep. I can draw sheep okay, that’s not a problem, it’s a lot easier than I expected. But I am having problems with this particular picture in terms of the composition and perspective. The depth, it always looks wrong. I haven’t got very far with this picture and getting Callimachus’s pose right is also proving a bit tricky.

I really want to get a mannikin and they did in fact have one in Smith’s (despite the fact that they had hardly anything else) for £11.99 which is not bad, so I might get one from there next time I go. But first I’m going to look on the interwebz because Smith’s is very expensive.

I had an interesting conversation with Agent T the other day.
Agent T: You look like someone I know.
Me: Who?
Agent T: [whispering]Kid Liquorice

Agent T FTW!!!

Leave a Reply

