Halfway through Halfway Across…

23 April 2008 at 19:57 (Random Randomness, Sims 2) (, )

Whew! Well I’ve decided to resume writing, and I did promise myself that I wouldn’t even touch part 7 of Raindrops until I’d wrapped up Lana’s story. I mean, I’ve already written the first draft, all I gotta do is add the pics and tidy up the text. Shouldn’t be too difficult, should it?

Well, my game had other ideas. First blue-screen of the year, guys! I only took two pictures, the game was very slow to process them, I knew it was getting ready to throw a temper tantrum and it did. Pic #3 resulted in a blue-screen of death. Boo hiss!!!!
Up and over

I decided that probably the reason was too many polys. After all, Fort Ra-Ra is a pretty big lot, so I emptied out all the rooms I’d finished shooting, and the game seemed much happier. I’ve shot up to page 41 now, and so I have 40 more, plus maybe a few pics to reshoot.

So why didn’t I just shoot the whole caboodle? Because… the game didn’t let me. I’ve sort of seen the back of blue-screens, but now I keep having to deal with the ‘The application has now crashed. The application will now terminate’ message (gee, thanks for telling me, I’d never have noticed).

I get them quite a lot these days. Ever since I installed Uni, really. The base game, Uni and NL have all been patched, so I’m guessing that either a bit of CC or a hack might be responsible. Two items that always ALWAYS give me problems: the Moroccan door – I can’t even select this, let alone place it, without an immediate crash. I haven’t a clue why. Second, the guitar. Any guitar, whether a Maxis one or a custom one. I removed Atavera’s guitar hack, didn’t make any difference (all that happens now is basses randomly get stuck to other instruments. In the last case, a gifted piano had a bass stuck to the chair, couldn’t remove it, had to sell the whole piano with moveobjects on). I’m quite peed off by this, the instruments were the things I was most looking forward to in Uni.

I think the only way to fix it is to remove all the hacks, then test them all individually. But do you think I can really bother my a*se to do that? No, I cannot. So I guess I’ll have to put up with a few more applications terminating.

Leave a Reply

